Board of Directors

Heartland AEA is governed by a nine-member board, with each member representing a director district in our 11-county area that is roughly equal in population. Board members are elected by local district boards of education and serve staggered four-year terms. The Board is responsible for approving agency budgets and program plans before they are submitted for final approval to the Iowa Department of Education. The Board is also charged with hiring a chief administrator and establishment and oversight of education policies for the Agency.

Board meetings are held in the Board Room at the Agency’s Administration Center at 6445 Corporate Drive in Johnston on the second Tuesday of each month, beginning at 5:30 p.m. Agendas are posted at least 24 hours in advance, and the public is always welcome to attend.

Important Contacts

ExpandClose All
Jenny Ugolini

Jenny Ugolini

  • Board Secretary/Executive Assistant

Contact for questions about Board of Directors and Agency Planning Council