# Board of Directors Meeting Agenda



# January 10, 2023

### Location:

Heartland AEA 6445 Corporate Drive, Johnston Boardroom

**Participants** 

ton

Time: 4:00 - 5:30 p.m.

Ms. Sheri Benson Board Member	Mr. John Kinley Board Member	Ms. Margie Schwenk Board Member	Dr. Jon Sheldahl Chief Administrator
Ms. Margaret Borgen Vice President	Ms. Tiara Mays Board Member		Mr. Kurt Subra Chief Financial Officer
Ms. Liz Brennan Board Member	Mr. Alex Piedras Board Member	Mr. Kevin Fangman Chief Academic Officer	Ms. Jenny Ugolini Board Secretary
Mr. Pete Evans Board President	Dr. Steve Rose Board Member	Ms. Sheila King Chief Information Officer	Dr. Kristi Upah Chief Student Srvcs. Officer

**President:** Pete Evans

# Recorder: Jenny Ugolini

### Board Meeting at 4:00 p.m.

Time	Topic/Process		Presenter	Outcome	
5 min.	1.01 Roll Call		Pete Evans	Roll call and approval of the agenda.	
	<b>1.02</b> Approval of Agenda		Pete Evans		
	1.03	Approval of minutes from December 13, 2022	Pete Evans	Review and approval of minutes from December 13, 2022	
	1.04	<ul> <li>Public Forum and Correspondence</li> <li>National Assoc. of School Psychologists (NASP) Recognition</li> </ul>	Pete Evans	Hear comments from members of the public and share Board correspondence.	

## 2. Discussion Items

Time	Topic/Process	Presenter	Outcome
5-10 min.	<ul> <li>2.01 Chief Administrator Updates on Recent Events and Activities</li> <li>Succession Planning Update</li> </ul>	Jon Sheldahl	Board members will be updated on recent events and activities.

# Board of Directors Meeting Agenda



20 min.	<b>2.02</b> FY 2023 Budget Conversation	Kurt Subra	Board members will discuss the FY 2023-24 budget.
5-10 min.	<b>2.03</b> Johnston REC Remodel Update	Kurt Subra	Board members will be updated on the Johnston REC remodeling project.
5 min.	<ul><li><b>2.04</b> Board Self-Evaluation</li><li>• Review questions and timeline</li></ul>	Jenny Ugolini	Board members will review the questions for their annual self-evaluation.
5 min.	<b>2.05</b> Modification of Early Notification Stipend	Kurt Subra	Board members will discuss the recommendation to modify the early notification stipend.

## 3. Action Item

Time	Topic/Process	Presenter	Outcome
5 min.	<b>3.01</b> Approval of Modified Early Notification Stipend	Kurt Subra	Board members may approve the modified early notification stipend.

## 4. Consent Agenda

Time	Topic/Process	Presenter	Outcome
5 min.	4.01 Personnel Report	Jon Sheldahl	Handout: Personnel Report Admin. Recommendation: approval
	<b>4.02</b> Bills	Steve Rose	Handout: Available at meeting Admin. Recommendation: approval
	<ul> <li>4.03 Purchase Requests</li> <li>• Kaseya US, L.L.C \$45,429.60</li> <li>• Embarkit, Inc \$24,995.50</li> </ul>	Sheila King, Kurt Subra	Handout: Purchase Requests Admin. Recommendation: approval

# Board of Directors Meeting Agenda



## 5. Exempt Session

Time	Topic/Process	Presenter	Outcome
20 min.	5.01 Exempt Session – Negotiations - Section 20.17(3) of the Code of Iowa Negotiating sessions, strategy meetings of public employers or employee organizations, mediation and the deliberative process of arbitrators shall	Kurt Subra, Jon Sheldahl	Board members will discuss the 2023-24 negotiation session. Recommended language for an exempt session: <i>I move that we hold</i> <i>an exempt session as provided in</i> <i>Section 20.17(3) of the Code of Iowa</i>
	be exempt from the provisions of Chapter 21 (open meetings law).		to discuss the 2023-24 negotiation session.

### 6. Chief Administrator Comments

### 7. Board Comments

### 8. Adjournment

#### FYI - Upcoming events

### Next Board Meeting: Tuesday, February 14, 2023

Heartland Area Education Agency does not discriminate based on race, color, creed, national origin, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity and/or expression, genetics, pregnancy, disability, military or veteran status, parental, family or marital status. Direct inquiries to the Human Resources Director, 6500 Corporate Dr., Johnston, IA 50131-1603, the Director, Iowa Civil Rights Commission, Des Moines, Iowa 50319-1004 or Director, Office for Civil Rights, Kansas City, MO 64106