Board of Directors Board Meeting Minutes



November 29, 2022

BOARD MEETING

Mr. Pete Evans, president, called the special meeting of the Heartland AEA Board of Directors to order at 5:04 p.m.

Board Members Present: Ms. Margaret Borgen, Ms. Liz Brennan, Mr. Pete Evans, Ms. Tiara Mays and Ms. Margie Schwenk. Absent: Ms. Sheri Benson, Mr. John Kinley and Mr. Alex Piedras. Dr. Steve Rose joined the meeting after roll call at 5:07 p.m.

Administrative Staff Present: Mr. Kevin Fangman, Mr. Kurt Subra and Ms. Jenny Ugolini.

Guest(s): Dr. Cindy Yelick, Chief Administrator, Great Prairie AEA.

Approval of Agenda

A MOTION was made by Ms. Borgen and seconded by Ms. Brennan to approve the agenda. The motion passed unanimously.

Discussion Item

Dec. 13, 2022 Board Agenda Review

Mr. Kurt Subra, Heartland AEA Chief Financial Officer, reviewed the draft agenda for Dec. 13.

- A public hearing will be held at 4:00 p.m. on Dec. 13 related to the Agency's Johnston Regional Education Center remodeling project.
- A draft of the modified early notification stipend that will be brought back for action in January.
- The Board's annual meeting will also be held in December and will include the nomination of a new board president and vice president and confirmation of meeting dates and committee assignments for 2023.

Action Item

Chief Administrator Contract

n 12.13.22

Mr. Evans noted that a final contract had been negotiated between Heartland AEA and with Dr. Cindy Yelick, the preferred candidate for the Heartland AEA chief administrator position.

A MOTION was made by Dr. Rose and seconded by Ms. Brennan to approve the contract for Dr. Yelick as the new Heartland AEA chief administrator, effective July 1, 2023. The motion passed unanimously.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:21 p.m.

Reports and documents and the full text of motions, resolutions or policies considered by the Board at this meeting are on file in the Board Secretary's office, (515) 473-6644, Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Mr. Pete Evans Board President

Board Secretary