Board of Directors Board Meeting Minutes



August 24, 2022

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING

Mr. Pete Evans, president, called the special meeting of the Heartland AEA Board of Directors to order at 5:02 p.m.

Board Members Present: Ms. Margaret Borgen, Ms. Liz Brennan, Mr. Pete Evans, Mr. John Kinley, Ms. Tiara Mays, and Dr. Steve Rose. Absent: Ms. Sheri Benson, Mr. Alex Piedras and Ms. Margie Schwenk.

Administrative Staff Present: Dr. Jon Sheldahl and Ms. Jenny Ugolini.

Approval of Agenda

A MOTION was made by Mr. Kinley and seconded by Ms. Borgen to approve the agenda. The motion passed unanimously.

Discussion Items

Search Firm Planning with Hazard, Young and Attea (HYA)

Mr. Ted Blaesing and Mr. John Perdue from HYA were present to discuss the search process and timeline for hiring the Agency's new chief administrator. They discussed the stages and timeline for this fall.

- It will be a confidential search.
- Focus groups and a staff survey will be conducted in Sept.
- HYA will develop a leadership profile and share with the Board in late Sept.
- Mr. Evans will serve as the board liaison. Ms. Ugolini will serve as the AEA liaison.
- The Board confirmed an advertising package for the posting of the position.

September 13, 2022 Board Agenda Review

Board members reviewed the Sept. 13 agenda, which includes the annual joint board meeting with Des Moines Area Community College.

Ms. Brennan left the meeting at 6:25 p.m.

Action Items

HYA Letter of Agreement

A MOTION was made by Dr. Rose and seconded by Mr. Kinley to approve the Letter of Agreement between HYA and Heartland AEA. The motion passed unanimously.

Johna nd Margaret Adjourned. Passed at 6:35

9.13 22

Adjournment

A MOTION was made by Mr. Kinley and seconded by Ms. Borgen to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 6:35 p.m.

Reports and documents and the full text of motions, resolutions or policies considered by the Board at this meeting are on file in the Board Secretary's office, (515) 473-6644, Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Ar. Pete Evans

Board President

Ms. Jenny Ugolini

Board Secretary