Board of Directors Board Meeting Minutes



August 15, 2022

SPECIAL BOARD MEETING

Mr. Pete Evans, president, called the special meeting of the Heartland AEA Board of Directors to order at 5:06 p.m.

Board Members Present: Ms. Sheri Benson, Ms. Liz Brennan, Mr. Pete Evans, Mr. John Kinley, Ms. Tiara Mays, and Ms. Margie Schwenk. Absent: Mr. Alex Piedras

Dr. Steve Rose joined the meeting at 5:21 p.m. Ms. Margaret Borgen joined the meeting at 5:48 p.m.

Administrative Staff Present: Mr. Kevin Fangman, Dr. Jon Sheldahl and Ms. Jenny Ugolini.

Approval of Agenda

A MOTION was made by Mr. Kinley and seconded by Ms. Benson to approve the agenda. The motion passed unanimously.

Discussion Items

Search Firm Interview - Hazard, Young and Attea (HYA)

Board members interviewed the search firm of Hazard, Young, Attea and Associates. Representatives from the firm included Dr. Ted Blaesing and Dr. John Perdue. They outlined the search process, timeline and costs.

The Board recessed from 6:21 - 6:30 p.m.

Search Firm Interview - GR Recruiting

Board members interviewed the search firm of GR Recruiting. Representatives from the firm included Dr. Dick Christie, Dr. Lane Plugge, Dr. Gary Ray, president of the firm, and Ms. Bev Smith. They outlined the search process, timeline and costs.

Search Firm Deliberation and Discussion

Board members shared their thoughts, concerns and overall impressions of both search firms. They agreed that either search firm would perform a high quality search for the Agency.

Action Items

Search Firm Selection

A MOTION was made by Dr. Rose and seconded by Ms. Shwenk that Hazard, Young and Attea be selected as the Agency's search firm. The motion passed unanimously.

Adjournment

p.m

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:43 p.m.

9.13.22

Reports and documents and the full text of motions, resolutions or policies considered by the Board at this meeting are on file in the Board Secretary's office, (515) 473-6644, Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. – 4:30

Mr. Pete Evans Board President

Ms. Jenny Ugolini Board Secretary