Board of Directors Special Board Meeting Minutes



May 26, 2022

SPECIAL ELECTRONIC BOARD MEETING

Mr. Pete Evans, president, called the special board meeting of the Heartland AEA Board of Directors to order at 12:00 p.m.

Board Members Present: Ms. Sheri Benson, Ms. Margaret Borgen, Ms. Liz Brennan, Mr. Pete Evans, Mr. John Kinley, Ms. Tiara Mays and Dr. Steve Rose. *Absent:* Ms. Margie Schwenk and Mr. Alex Piedras.

Administrative Staff Present: Dr. Jon Sheldahl, Mr. Kurt Subra and Ms. Jenny Ugolini.

Approval of Agenda

A MOTION was made by Dr. Rose and seconded by Mr. Kinley to approve the agenda. Motion passed unanimously.

Discussion Items

Second Amended and Restated 28E Agreement of the Iowa Association of Area Education Agencies (IAAEA)

Dr. Sheldahl, Heartland AEA Chief Administrator, shared that this is an amendment to the original agreement that assigns all assets and contracts to the IAAEA and transfers staff to the association. He recommends approving the amendment as it allows subsequent hires to be employed under the IAAEA versus individual AEAs, creating continuity. Intellectual property will also be transferred to the IAAEA.

Action Items

Second Amended and Restated 28E Agreement of the IAAEA

A MOTION was made by Dr. Rose and seconded by Mr. Kinley to approve the recommendation to approve the Second Amended and Restated 28E Agreement of the Iowa Association of Area Education Agencies, as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

Purchase Orders

A MOTION was made by Ms. Benson and seconded by Ms. Brennan to approve the purchase order request for BootUp PD Inc. in the amount of \$164,700.00. The motion passed unanimously.

Adjournment

A MOTION was made by Dr. Rose and seconded by Ms. Borgen to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 12:14 p.m.

Reports and documents and the full text of motions, resolutions or policies considered by the Board at this meeting are on file in the Board Secretary's office, 515/270-9030 ext. 14441, Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Mr. Pete Evans

Board President

Ms. Jenny Ugolini Board Secretary