Skip to main content
Heartland Area Education Agency Print Header
Main Content

Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA)

In 2015, Congress adopted the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), a reauthorization of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) of 1965. This update replaces the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 and restores the proper balance between the role of states and the federal government in accountability for the success of all children.

ESSA requires that states develop plans that address standards, assessments, school and district accountability and special help for struggling schools. The 2016-17 school year will be a transition period, with full implementation of Iowa’s state plan under ESSA in the 2017-18 school year.

What we know now:

  • ESSA provides flexibility in school interventions and supports to states such as Iowa that currently operate without a waiver to ESEA. The Iowa Department of Education has chosen that flexibility option. See the “Update on SES and School Choice” box on the DE's ESSA webpage for more information.
  • Iowa will freeze the Adequate Yearly Progress status of all districts and schools for the 2016-2017 school year. Districts and schools will continue to implement the same plans or actions that were developed in 2015-2016.

Email questions and comments about this transition to Additional information about ESSA is available on the DE's ESSA webpage.

Due to the adoption of ESSA, districts and buildings are not required to update their DINA / SINA plans in 2016-17. However, if they want to do so, they may do this in the Title I application found on the DE's Title I webpage.

For more information or questions, contact:

photo of Karla Day

Karla Day
Professional Learning & Leadership Consultant
(800) 255-0405 ext. 14321

photo of Tinna Walberg

Tinna Walberg
Regional Director
(800) 255-0405 ext. 11206

© 2018 Heartland AEA 11. All Rights Reserved.